The Eternal Bachelor

“Teenage boys, goaded by their surging hormones run in packs like the primal horde. They have only a brief season of exhilarating liberty between control by their mothers and control by their wives.”— Camille Paglia


An Interesting debate occurred at Quiet Riot Girl’s site, and I threw in my two cents:

http://quietgirlriot.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/i-owe-them-nothing/

Lori Adorable, dissenting threw me in the direction of the above quote.  Here is  Lori’s site- http://loriadorable.wordpress.com/

So, I don’t know a whole lot about Camille Paglia but the above quote resonated with me.  I’m not a fan of Charlie Sheen but there was something about his character on Two and a Half Men that I always liked.  He has money but he isn’t settling down.  He is staying in an extended adolescence.  He might be what many women these days call a “catch” but he isn’t allowing himself to be caught. I am not endorsing his personal life at all, just saying I relate to part of his character’s persona.

I was raised by a single mother.  I saw my father sometimes.  I saw my uncles more.  I didn’t have a strong sense of manhood.  This might explain some of the reasons I am interested in sociology/gender dynamics.  My interest in sexuality is “self evident”–just like my interest in food 😉

Hope You All Have a Great Memorial Day Weekend!

Rock On!

Stoner With a Boner

One thought on “The Eternal Bachelor

Leave a Reply

