Are you erudite?

Well, I’ve been blogging for a few months now–it has finally struck me that I am an author. I write things that people read and I create content. While I am finding that this a great creative outlet, I am also starting to ponder the “mechanics” of writing. I do not create in a vacuum. I should consider how my readers perceive my words. One of those factors is the “readability.”

Some Guidelines are:

–Use short, simple, familiar words

–Avoid jargon.

–Use culture-and-gender-neutral language.

–Use correct grammar, punctuation, and spelling.

–Use simple sentences, active voice, and present tense.

–Begin instructions in the imperative mode by starting sentences with an action verb.

–Use simple graphic elements such as bulleted lists and numbered steps to make information visually accessible.

http://www.impact-information.com/impactinfo/readmore.htm

Now for those who don’t know what an active voice is, that is when the subject does the action expressed by the main verb. For example, an active voice would be: The hunter saw the deer. An example of passive voice would be: The deer was seen by the hunter. For more info, visit The Great Wiki

There are computer algorithms that can measure a documents readability.
Here’s one that I found on the net. I simply cut and pasted the text from my article on Inmalafide, “End Selective Service Now.” The Flesch Kincaid Grade Level of this article was a 7.9 Grade Reading Level. My understanding is that the average American reads at the 7th or 8th grade reading level so I think I am in the ballpark of where I should be. However, since people have short attention spans and they are also staring at a computer screen, maybe getting my writing to a 5th grade reading level would make it more accessible.

Blogging has taught me a whole lot of new words as well as concepts. I am grateful for this. If you didn’t know already, Erudite is having or showing profound knowledge.

One thought on “Are you erudite?

  1. Amazing article. In the end, what matters is how comfortable the reader will be while reading your text. This is the only valid concern one should have in mind.

Leave a Reply

