Dialogue between a Priest and a Dying Man

“…You, yourself preacher, I defy you to believe in the god you predicate to me-you must fail because you cannot demonstrate him to me, because it is not in you to define him to me, because consequently you do not understand him, you can no longer furnish me any reasonable argument concerning him, and, because, in sum, anything beyond the limits and grasp of the human mind is either illusion or futility; and because your god having to be one of the other of the two, in the first instance I should be mad to believe him, in the second a fool…”

-The Marquis De Sade

Leave a Reply

