…fat shaming…

…well, just a general observation…

…some of the biggest bullies on the internet are obese-David Futrelle and Matt Forney come to mind…

…but then again I’m sure they don’t represent every person who is overweight…

…I’ve never had a weight problem myself per se. I have been “overweight” by measures of ideal body weight. I had more upper body strength. For me it was a trade off, a little heavy, more power. A little lean, more able to move quickly. It actually seems easier to remain on the little lean side. I prefer mountianbiking and hiking over weights any day of the week…

…now one thing I’ve been observing is that feminists as a groups seem to have no problem bashing low status men with the Nice Guy ™ meme but get offended and call it victim blaming when people crack fat jokes–hypocrisy much? How come it’s okay to relentlessly bash one group but the other isn’t supposed to be held responsible for their situation?

…In my personal life, I’m pretty much willing to live and let live. I really don’t know what it’s like to be fat. I’ve had people tell me I’ll get fat when I’m older but my dad is skinny. I don’t imagine most people “choose” to be fat. Maybe it is a lack of discipline. I know it isn’t “the natural condition” no matter what a “fat acceptance movement” tries to tell people. In America, it’s a surplus of high calorie, low nutrition food. It actually costs more money to eat healthy than plentiful. Now on the individual level, I doubt “fat shaming” makes a person lose weight. Haha, I doubt Forney’s calls to shame fat women is because he actually cares about them.

But to take things further, I don’t owe it to feminists or fat women to be attracted to them. Isn’t that entitlement???

11 thoughts on “…fat shaming…

  1. It is entitlement. It’s confusing attraction for simply liking the person. That is, they hear “Hmmm, she’s a bigger girl and isn’t not my type” as, “I hate her disgustingly fat ass” and start railing on you for why you need to give her a chance and see how awesome she is.

    I know plenty of fat girls through work who are great to hang out with, but they aren’t physically attractive to me. It seems many feminists don’t get this idea.

  2. The core problem is that many women are offended that men have standards. Only WOMEN are supposed to be able to pick and choose; all women are inherently wonderful, and men are failing to recognize that.

  3. I actually endorse “Health at Every Size” as I found the research from that book to be pretty good. Sure, it’s study-heavy. But the findings are pretty damn interesting. I don’t agree with all the conclusions necessarily. But it’s thought-provoking.

    I don’t like ‘fat shaming’. It really is one of the things about many MRA’s that bugs me; as I notice many of them engage in such things. I don’t let it bug me that much. I know most often they’re just blowing off steam or just trying to pick at whatever they feel a person will be most insecure about. But I just think it’s retarded most of the time. She’s wrong because she’s fat? Because I see those types of arguments and they’re embarrassing.

    So yeah. It is one of the few things about the feminist movement that I don’t mind that much; in large part because they actually use the scientific method to reach their conclusions.

    Now if they could only use that critical eye for studies on domestic violence and rape…

    1. This is pretty complex as I’ve read that obesity is even worse than smoking…

      http://fitness.mercola.com/sites/fitness/archive/2012/08/03/obesity-surpasses-smoking.aspx

      I’ve also read about fat-fit people…

      http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128267723

      many feminist’s seem to say that obesity is “systematic”-since obesity rates are growing, it’s not an unreasonable assertion to say it is happening at the societal level…

      many manospherians say that it is about personal responsibilty, they point out those who have lost massive amounts of weight and the fact that most people can make lifestyle changes even if it is painful…

      I’m not above cracking fat jokes but I think if you have a friend or family member, I doubt shaming them will help them shed pounds.

      I also think that allot of the fat shaming is a direct attack against the feminist’s “Nice Guy” shaming…

  4. I also think that allot of the fat shaming is a direct attack against the feminist’s “Nice Guy” shaming…

    That nails it.

    Men are simply tired of the double standards. M3 said it best: IN order to be considered attractive to women, men have to be confident, charming, socially savvy, have drive and potential in their life, make all the moves, pay for dates, be empathetic at the right moments, etc. And if they fail in this regard and display any resentment over women’s ridiculously high standards, then they’re shamed as “Nice Guy TMs.”

    All women have to do to be attractive is look decent and not have a completely repulsive personality. Really, that’s it.

    So if men can be shamed for failing to live up to an extensive checklist, then women who can’t exercise a little discipline and impulse control should be shamed as well.

  5. “All women have to do to be attractive is look decent and not have a completely repulsive personality. Really, that’s it. ”

    There’s some old quote saying that masculinity needs to be earned-wish I could find it…

    Yeah, but as I get older, I find that less and less of the woman around my age are even worth the effort of pursuing. As a never married man with no kids (notice I didn’t say “not that I know of, tehe”)-I’m not gonna get involved with a divorcee or single mom.

    1. There’s some old quote saying that masculinity needs to be earned-wish I could find it…

      I believe the quote is, “a woman simply is, but a man must become.”

      Interestingly enough, it’s often credited to a woman, Camille Paglia.

      1. there’s an even older quote to which I was referring but am sure she is familiar with as she is a historian. Depending on whom you ask, Paglia is either a feminist or anti-feminist, funny that…

        I got about 40 pages through one of her books, that was another book that defeated me…

        I know in tribal societies that boys go through rituals to become men, I’m genuinely curious as to if there are analogous rituals where girls become women?

Leave a Reply

