…MGTOW and regret…

So, I’ve seen this list before. I think it was at one of Alek Novy’s sites.

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

I think MGTOW embodies this. It is living life for yourself and not the expectation of others…

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

Ironically, I just left a job where the carrot they put infront of my face was “career” so I would keep on the treadmill and run faster. As far as people my age, both men and women foolishly (in my estimation) chase corporate careers that can be taken away instantaneously with the next outsourcing.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

Most men are told to sit down and shut the fuck up. Don’t believe me, go to that sewer called the Good Men Project and look how real, living, breathing men are told their experiences don’t matter by “informed” feminist womyn.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

I don’t have many friends IRL. I’ve thought that when I get old, I could very well die alone. This is a reality that faces many men, I don’t know how many have soberly looked that reality in the eyes.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

Laughter is good. So is the occasional beer. Music is awesome.

7 thoughts on “…MGTOW and regret…

  1. 1. Going your own way does embody this, for men and women alike. It’s *your* life, don’t let anyone else tell you how to live it.

    2. I enjoy working, I really do. But then, I’m the Store Manager of a mom & pop gaming/hobby chain. If I still had a corporate cog job like I did 8+ years ago, I’d probably still be miserable. It’s so worthwhile to do what you love, not what brings in the most money. Could I quit and go to a job where I’m making $100,000 a year rather than $30,000? Yes…but why should I when I’m already happy and nearly debt free?

    3. Everyone should be able to express their feelings. Anyone who just tells people to “man up” or be 100% stoic all the time is a douche. Of course, you have to still be cautious when sharing your emotions…I learned in high school and college that there’s many people (most notably women) who will act like your friend, listen to your worries and dry your tears…then talk about it to anyone who will listen.

    4. This is the only thing I use Facebook for.

    5. Go back to point #1, and remember to live life in a way that makes you happiest (so long as it’s not harmful). I may believe in reincarnation, but each day is still meant to be cherished for it’s potential.

    Awesome post, Stoner.

  2. “1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.”
    – I’m living it now the way i wanted rather than what i thought i should be due to expectation.

    “2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.”
    – Work to be productive and proud. But never work so hard that you live to work. Rather work to live.

    “3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.”
    – I blog therefore i am 😛

    “4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.”
    – Similar to you, i don’t have many ‘close’ friends.. maybe 1 or 2. Most in my life are acquaintances. Those who earned their spot keep it for life lest they royally fuck me over. Everyone else has failed to earn that distinction. Perhaps a trait of the introverted of which i belong to.

    “5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.”
    – Of all my time on this rock, and especially in all that i have learned since my exwife gave me the strength to finally see through the lies and end the sham of a marriage.. i can say without equivocation – i have never known such happiness or been happier with myself, my life and my situation.

    Have a beer on me.

Leave a Reply

