…burnout…

I haven’t been posting much lately…

Well, to be honest, I can’t really bother to read the inanity of someone like Mandy Marcotte and get myself in a rage writing a response piece these days…

I spent half a decade at a job that paid the bills but was slowly sucking the life outta me…

Now I have time to work on music and ride my mountainbike…

But to be honest, I’m scared shitless…

Before it was easier to sit behind the computer and wave my arms in anger and write…

Writing is something I stumbled onto by accident.

I never wanted to be a writer but I suppose it would be awesome to write 2 hrs a day and make 6 figures…

But getting paid to do music would be more fun.

But I’ll still do music even if I don’t see a penny…

4 thoughts on “…burnout…

  1. Just passionately write about manospherian shit you don’t really believe in. Put in a paypal tip jar and watch the money flow. Preach to that choir.

  2. It seems you’re conflicted on how to use your creative energy, and make no mistake, writing is a creative endeavor, even if you’re simply doing a scholarly research paper.

    if you’re more passionate about your music (which I think is the case, given how you’ve improved your guitar playing in only a few months), then get absorbed into it as much as your time allows. (Pro Tip: Don’t get absorbed to the point where you forget about basic needs such as food, water, exercise, hygiene, etc.) There are always opportunities available, even if you have to hunt high and low for them, and with the intrawebz, you may find like-minded people on the other side of the country, or even the world.

    Figure out what you want to do musically, and do what it takes to accomplish it. Me, I wanted to make brutal, melodic music with a touch of class. So I spent 4-6 hours per day practicing and playing, another 2-4 hours per day writing songs and studying theory, and another 1-4 hours per day just listening to a variety of musical styles. That last one is important.

    By the end, i figured that I liked death/thrash metal, progressive rock, classical symphonies and quartets, with a touch of bluegrass. The music I created reflected that; almost a precursor to the “technical death metal” of today.

Leave a Reply

