…mixed…not a minority…

…so this is something that’s been brewing in my head for a long time…

…some might read this and think it’s a rhetorical distinction, I believe a very few will “get” what I’m trying to say….

Since the IMF days, I’d been butting heads with the White Nationalist’s and those that followed that knew I was mixed. I don’t think anyone knows the precise mix, it’s neither here nor there. I don’t care to play identity politics, and it’s more fun to keep the fuckers guessing…

“Racial politics” has probably as much hypocrisy as “gender politics.”

Someone like Mandy Marcotte would scream RACISM at the top of her lungs against someone who uttered the word “nigger.” However, (and I don’t know this to be absolute fact) I’d gather that if you looked at her facebook or hung around her social circles, you’d find it to be as white or whiter than the most exclusive gated community. So, whose more racist, a “lower class” white person who drops a racial slur here and there but who hangs out with many people of other races, even dating and fucking people of other races or Marcotte?

Well, if you are invested in the idea that Marcotte, Filipovic and West are the most oppressedessed ™ humans in the history –HERstory, sorry… …of teh universe, you may come up with one answer. If you live in the real world you might come up with another answer…

…then you’ve got those alter-righty weirdoes like C. Rudd who seem to think that a Korean dude, a Mexican dude, an Ethiopian dude and myself–walk into a bar, shit lost track for a second, there…

…well, what they seem to think is that we are all minorities, and, uh, affirmative action. And that’s why he can’t get his six figure job…

…as if we all stand together and have the same interests. That ain’t the case. Its not like, oh, hai fellow token minority –secret handshake– here’s the six figure job and $10,000 bonus just for showing up…

…and with that whole Zimmerman debacle, funny how he was a white guy one moment then a mestizo who likely had black blood another moment. Funny how those things change depending on whose agenda you got going…

Now for me personally, I’m glad the fucking holidays are over. Over the years I’ve had the experience of being rejected by both sides of my “family”–not for what I’ve done but for who I am (or am not, I suppose.)

I haven’t collected a penny from “affirmative action.”

I’m not a minority who can say, well, locally, I’m 3.06% of the population. My people got my back…

I’m a halfbreed. I’m a mutt. An outsider…

A man who will never have a land, or membership or belonging….

9 thoughts on “…mixed…not a minority…

  1. Lol, very cool. Though in the real world the Sicilian would have shot her before she reached the end of the table. šŸ˜‰

  2. Excellent post.

    “Racism” is actually a word that I question the use of. It was designed to define people’s dislike of other groups but doesn’t take into account a lot of things, namely that we’re tribal people and all prefer our own.

    But if you have to define racism in its current form, it’s more a case of what you do than what you say. We are our actions more than our words. Therefore, the indie/hipster crowd with 100 percent white friends is more “racist” in the classic sense than the blue collar folks with a diverse set of friends. Actions speak louder than words.

Leave a Reply

