Black Friday

So for Thanksgiving I had dinner with my friend and his girlfriend. She works in retail and had to be at work at 6 PM. We quickly ate then dropped her off. It was crazy, the mall was packed. I rarely go to the malls, sometimes for a late night movie but otherwise I try to buy what I can online. I was amazed that there must’ve been a thousand people in line to go to Target. Then I thought about it, why would people be in line except if they like it. They can comfortably sit back and get what they need on the internet. No, I think people stand in line for the experience, hoping there will be a riot. They didn’t get Ferguson, but they might get this.

Regardless of race, gender or other political affiliations, I think “opting out” of Black Friday and excessive consumerism is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

