Can you trust a corporation for free speech?

By now you are probably hearing about Net Neutrality.

We have seen Milo Y rant about his free speech being limited on Twitter.

Apparently, the philosopher patriarch Jordan Peterson had some trouble with his Youtube account.

Here is an interesting video:

 

At one point when I was floating around on the edges of “MGTOW” spaces, someone suggested I start a Youtube channel.  I resisted the idea for a couple of reasons.  It could increase the likelyhood that I might be doxxed (as if I am even worth doxxing anyways.) I felt that I wouldn’t be able to convey my ideas as effectively in a spoken word format or a “podcast” format.  I felt that Youtube (along with Twitter) was a place to oversimplify ideas.  For example, “reaction videos” were less effective (or perhaps more effective if you are a fast talker) than distilling ideas via written word.  I do feel though that Youtube can be effective for showing hot to do a say, a basic guitar repair and be more effective than an article.  However, the most important reason was that a corporation was now in control of your content.  Now if you were to be blocked, perhaps you could move over to Vimeo but how many viewers would migrate with you?  And if you were expecting revenue from Youtube, well you are now starting from scratch.  Sure, using a blog host like wordpress could potentially have similar issues, but it would be a bit easier to start over on, say blogspot.  And self hosting is an option that isn’t readily available for video content.  Those libertarian tough guys, er, I mean MGTOW’s seemed awfully trusting of a corporation to host their “controversial” content.  The corporation can shut the water off for virtually any reason.  So the question becomes how do you find decentralized methods for sharing information?  I know the technology exists and it would essentially be peer-to-peer networks ala Napster where data could be transferred.  But the question becomes, were would online denizen’s meet before they decided to “decentralize?”  I’m surprised the  MGTOW guys haven’t discussed this before.  Maybe they were too busy being tough guys and not really going their own way.  Alright, I’m just taking cheap shots now….

Interesting Book…

“You always dread the unfamiliar. Surely you remember the boy in your own school class who was exceptionally ‘bright,’ did most of the reciting and answering while the others sat like so many leaden idols, hating him.  And wasn’t it this bright boy you selected for beatings and torture after hours?  Of course it was.  We must all be alike.  Not everyone born free and equal, as the Constitution says, but everyone made equal. Each man made the other; then they are happy, for there are no mountians to make them cower, to judge themselves against. So! A book is a loaded gun in the house next door.  Burn it.  Take the shot from the weapon.  Breach man’s mind.  Who knows who might be the target of the well-read man?  Me? I won’t stomach that for a minute.”

Beatty, the Fireman in Fahrenheit 451

haha, when I read these words, I thought of the alt-right and their alter-ego’s the antifa.  Nether of them are pro freedom.  Maybe Bradbury had studied totalitarian regimes.  I fear we are gonna see this shit again.  There are many theme’s in this book, well now you have everyone pretending to be “deep” with Tweets.

Here’ a power metal song I like: